A New Beginning

A whirlwind of activity the last two to three weeks for me. I have been working on a short term assignment for a cable company helping them find candidates for some of their key business class roles and at about the same time I started the interview process with a potential employer. My assignment officially ends tomorrow and I received the “official” offer today.

I am proud to announce that my personal job search has ended. I have accepted an offer from Comcast to be their Director of Talent Acquisition for their Freedom Region. This role is based just outside of Philadelphia and will be very similar to my previous position at Time Warner Cable in Texas. I am very excited because the interview process was quick, everyone I met or spoke with were impressive and overall the job and culture feel like a great fit.

This of course means that we will be relocating from Austin to the Philadelphia area. We will miss Austin. What a great town that we called home for three years. The people, unique restaurants, activities, culture, lakes, and the general Texas environment were spectacular. We never had a dull moment and felt like we only scratched the surface of what can be done in and around this city.

Thank you to everyone for your thoughts, prayers, leads, networking calls, emails, Twitter posts, Facebook posts, words of encouragement, resume tips and reviews. I would especially like to thank Kim Hollenshead, Bryan Chaney, Right Management’s Jo Lineberry, Recruiting Animal, Porter Shifflett, Susan Strayer, Michael Goldberg, William Uranga, Glenn Warner, Martha Bartlett (she referred me to a Comcast recruiter who sent my name on – extra thanks Martha!), Melissa White, Juan Munoz and Seth Feit. Without your actions the past five months might have been brutal but instead it was a very positive experience.

We are looking forward to a new beginning in my career, a new place to live and the experiences yet to come. The kids are looking forward to snow days again. My wife is looking forward to her job search in a new city. I am also looking forward to meeting the team, the challenges and rewards and having an impact on the TA function to help Comcast move forward.

Now it’s time to update my LI profile!

24 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

24 responses to “A New Beginning

  1. Well if you have to go anywhere . . . Philly’s good. My best friend lives there as does my Twitter cousin @gloriabell. Best wishes in your new role. You’re going to do wonders for Comcast!

  2. RU sure U didn’t get that job thru someone hearing you on my show?

  3. Congratulations Mark — and to Comcast! They are lucky to have you! I really like Philly too – I have some fave restaurants there. I wish you all the best in your new role – hope to catch up soon!

  4. Paula

    This is fabulous news, Mark. I really am happy for you and the fam. Onward to the next adventure!

  5. So happy for you Mark. I’m sure you’ll enjoy the new role and new city! If there’s ever anything you need, don’t hesitate to call.

  6. That’s great news Mark! Congratulations and best wishes on your next step ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Michael

  7. Melissa White

    Congratulations Mark! I’m so happy for you and your family. I wish you the best of luck in your new role and I know you’ll bring to Comcast what you brought to us at Time Warner. They’re very lucky to have you. Stay in touch!

  8. Christy Goins-Craig

    CONGRATS, Mark! That is excellent news! I know you’re going to be extra super busy over the next several weeks but I know that all of your TWC peeps and I would love to get together to wish you a formal “goodbye” and provide you with a proper send-off! Let me know if you can fit us in and we can get something organized.

  9. Well done Mark. I recomended you for a job just today. Glad this has worked out for you!
    Bill

  10. Michael Goldberg

    Mark-0

    Congratulations on your new start. Send us your contact info. Philly is a great area and you will actually get to enjoy all four seasons. Just don’t become an Eagles or Phillies fan. I have some friends and relatives out there that I would be happy to introduce you to.

    All the best to you and your family.

    Michael

    • Michael,

      That would be great to meet up with some of your contacts – thank you! I don’t think I will become a fan anytime soon, but that doesn’t mean I won’t try and get to some games! I went to a Phillies game while I was out there and that is a great stadium.

      Thanks again for your support!

      Mark

  11. So, you pulled a Cliff Lee and going from Texas to Philly? Hmmm… Seriously, congratulations on your new job.

  12. Clint King

    Mark,

    Congrats! Comcast just made a very wise choice. And about Texas . . . agreed. I am only here for the summer in Dallas and will barely make a dent in everything there is to do. Glad it all worked out!

    Clint

  13. Dennis Smith

    Congrats, Jim! And so starts a new chapter in your life – in Philly! And you even got to take the fam to Mt. Rushmore – great job, Dad!

    Good luck, Jim! Former colleague and great friend (Jen Hinkle) is in Philly and now works for Yoh….reach out to her if you need any help navigating the landscape. She’s been there forever and loves to help.

    Dennis

  14. Congrats Mark,

    Julia is missing Emily here… tell her Julia sent her kisses ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

